Log in



The LGMA Awards for Excellence recognise the best of local government initiatives in the state, noting the differing environments and communities that local government serves. LGMA is delighted to present a programme which acknowledges and celebrates the outstanding work undertaken by local governments across Queensland. 

The categories are designed to be flexible – recognising that local government is at the forefront of innovation and operates in a rapidly changing environment. Categories are not intended to be limited to particular areas of local government activity. Instead, they are applicable to activities across the whole of local government.

If a project/initiative comes to mind, be sure to look at the award categories and determine which is the 'best fit' for that particular project. Please note that a project or initiative may be nominated in up to two categories and each will be treated as a separate nomination. When you’ve determined your suitable projects and categories, all that’s left to do is to nominate!

The Award Categories include:

Above and Beyond
Community Shaping
'Doing More with Less' (Category 1 Councils Only)
Workplace Wellbeing

    View Programme Here

    Registering your nomination:

    Once you decide on the category for your project, please complete the online registration process here.  You will be asked the following:

    your name, mobile number, office phone number, email, current position, council, purchase order (if required) and the official name of your project. The purpose of this registration is so LGMA can confirm your participation and plan for the Awards Gala.  You don't have to have completed your nomination at this stage.  Nominations opened on Thursday 3 November 2022 and will close promptly at 3.00pm on Wednesday 19 April 2023.

    Nomination Guidelines:

    Following your online registration, please follow the Nomination Guidelines here.

    Key Dates:

    Award Nominations Open - Thursday 3 November 2022

    Award Nominations Close - 3pm Wednesday 19 April 2023

    Awards for Excellence Gala - Thursday 25 May 2023

    Need some inspiration? View our Past Winners here.


    If you are worried about the post arriving on time please contact one of the below printers to print and deliver to us directly. 

    Deliver to: LGMA Level 7, Quay Central, 95 North Quay, Brisbane QLD 4000

    Worldwide Printing - 07 3236 0544

    Snap Printing - Email:

    Thank you to the Corporate Partners supporting the 2023 Awards for Excellence

    The 2022 LG Professionals National Federation Awards took place on Friday the 11th of November. 

    Balonne Shire Council took out the Collaboration and Partnerships award for innovative project, The Hub.

    Burke Shire Council received the inaugural Blanch Perry Award for Diversity and Inclusion for their staff housing project.

    Ipswich City Council won the Award for Community Service Delivery for the fabulous Ipswich Children's Library.

    Special mention also went to Logan City Council for Net Zero and Next Gen Resilient Council.

    Congratulations to all nominees and well done to Queensland winners.


    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software