Manager of the Year Award for Leadership and Management Excellence

As part of LGMA Queensland’s commitment to recognise outstanding leadership and management excellence in local government, the Manager of the Year Award for Leadership and Management Excellence is awarded annually.  The Award acknowledges and encourages leadership and management excellence and is presented to a senior local government employee who has made an outstanding contribution to the positive growth of their council and community. 

The 2017 Manager of the Year Award for Leadership and Management Excellence is now closed for nominations.  If you wish to consider a future nomination, you can view the nomination form here.  Nominations for 2018 will open in June 2018.

The Award is open to senior managers who are employed by a Queensland local government and have been for a minimum of 12 months.  Nominations generally open in June each year and close in early August with the Award announced at the Annual Conference Gala Dinner.

Congratulations to Peter Franks from Mareeba Shire Council for winning the Manager of the Year 2016 Award!

 Russell Paten (right) from Telstra presented the award to the well-deserving Peter Franks (left). 

Peter Franks (CEO of Mareeba Shire Council) has been in his current role since January 2014. Prior to that he was Transfer Manager at Noosa Shire Council.  Peter Franks’ resume outlines his extensive experience in Local Government spanning over 7 councils.  Peter arrived at Mareeba Shire Council shortly after they underwent de-amalgamation as a result of a referendum of the community.  He was tasked with creating the new organisation and developing a culture of enthusiasm in a council that had been through a very tumultuous time and a community facing financial hardship.  Throughout the organisation Peter is praised with being a genuine and honest leader who faces the challenges of the CEO role with a consultative approach instilling confidence in his employees and the executive leadership team.  He truly believes that employees are an organisation’s most valuable assets and makes decisions accordingly such as increasing training opportunities for his staff.  He also believes in keeping the community updated and has implemented new opportunities for the community to connect with council.  Well done Peter Franks!

Previous winners include: Chris Rose (Logan City Council - 2014), Mark Pitt (North Burnett Regional Council - 2013), Terry Brennan (Cassowary Coast Regional Council - 2012) and more...

Our Partners